Blackcabbit's World

Bit by bit, the Blackcabbit crafts its nest of DIY handmade art and illustrates a kingdom of doodle critters to beautify the world she lives in.

Craft Stores in Japan – Tokyo (Shinjuku)

This is actually a continuation from my previous post. Of which, I shared about my way around Nippori Fabric Town. Since I was familiar with the area, I finished my selective shopping around noon. With unquenchable thirst for more craft materials & fabrics, I ventured into Shinjuku to continue my quest for more.

My intention was to make Okadaya my first stop (because it was the store I missed out in my previous adventure). The best way to Okadaya is via Shinjuku’s East Exit. However, I was so directionally-challenged that I ended up at the SOUTH exit. (DUH! I still have no idea how it happened. LOL!) I stared at the map that I took from the station and turned it upside-rightside-leftside-down for countless times as precious time slipped away.

Finally, I figured it out and made my way to these stores and in this sequence:
1. Grain Plaire
2. Kiwa Products
3. Okadaya
4. ABC Craft (Shinjuku Branch will be closing down on 31 March 2012)
5. Sekaido
6. Yuzawaya
7. Tokyu Hands

Navigating around Shinjuku can be really unnerving and confusing for new visitors. So, I thought I’d share with you my treasure map. Hopefully, it will provide you with better visual as you hunt in the same craft jungle.Okadaya Shinjuku

*****
*****

Grain Plaire (グランプレール)

Shinjuku Craft Shopping
Opening hours: 11:00 am – 9:00 pm
Location: Shinjuku MYLORD (新宿ミロード) – Mall 2F (M2F) > Floor Guide
Check their website/online store for more details (in Japanese).

I got to know about Grain Plaire and Kiwa Products (the one below) when I stumbled onto an article by Ai Terada. Basically, both of them are specialty stores selling jewelry making supplies (i.e. accessory parts, various types of beads & gemstones, chains, threads, books, crafts kits, tools, wire, and many more). And best of all, having both stores in close proximity does make them competitive, thus keeping the price reasonable.

TOP

Kiwa Products (Kiwa Seisakujo / 貴和製作所)

Beading supplies
Opening hours: 11:00 am – 10:00 pm
Location: Shinjuku Lumine 2 (新宿ルミネ2) – Fifth Floor (5F) > Floor Guide
Check their website for more details (in Japanese).
Their online store is also available (in Japanese).

TOP

Okadaya (オカダヤ)

Opening hours: 11:00 am – 8:30 pm
Check their website for more details.
Their list of online stores is also available.
Check here for closed dates & floor guide.
[Note: All links in Japanese]
Okadaya Direction
Like I said earlier, Shinjuku’s East Exit is the ideal way to Okadaya because the store is just directly across it. However, in order to see its signboard, you may have to walk a little further in front. Then, cross the road towards Studio ALTA and 百果園 (a fruit store). Do note that Okadaya consists of two buildings. On the left of the fruit store, you will see the clothing & accessories building of Okadaya, just a stone’s throw away.
Odakaya
Clothing & Accessories Building (Left):
1F: Don’t be surprise if you walk into a storefront filled with cosmetic goods.
BF: They even sell ladies’ inner wears & lingeries in their basement.
2F: Stage make-up & goods
3F: Beads, ornaments, decorations, zakka, wigs, hair accessories
4F: Clothing accessories
5F: Craft materials & tools, books, knitting wools
6F: Sewing notions, sewing machines, books, threads, buttons, buckles, etc.

Fabric Building (Right):
You will find this building just next door, separated by a small lane.
BF: Interior fabrics & accessories, extra wide fabrics.
1F: Cotton fabrics, magazines, etc.
2F: Stage/Costume fabrics
3F: Dress fabrics, paddings & linings
4F: Special fabrics & textiles
5F: Special fabrics & textiles

NOTE: The above-mentioned floor guide may subject to change.

TOP

ABC Craft (ABCクラフト)

Opening hours: 11:00 am – 9:00 pm
(Shinjuku Branch will be closing down on 31 March 2012)
Location: Shinjuku Mitsukoshi Alcott (新宿三越アルコット) – B3F > Floor Guide
Check their website for more details (in Japanese).
Okadaya
After Okadaya, make your way back to the fruit store. Facing Shinjuku’s East Exit, turn left to the main road. Of which, you will be able to find Mitsukoshi Alcott opposite Kinokuniya book store and before Isetan department store. (See map above)
Mitsukoshi Alcott
IMPORTANT NOTE:
ABC Craft in Shinjuku will be closing down on 31 March 2012. A big part of their items will be relocated to Ange Higashi Nakano Main Store (アンジュ東中野本店).
Click here for more information.

TOP

Sekaido (世界堂)

Opening hours: 9:30 am – 9:00 pm
Location: Sekaido Building (世界堂ビル) – 1F to 6F > Floor Guide
Check their website for more details (in Japanese).
Their online store is also available (in Japanese).
Tokyo art craft store

Japan art store

Click on thumbnail to see these pictures of Sekaido on Flickr.

On the same road, after passing by Isetan and all three of Marui’s stores (i.e. Main, ONE, Annex), you will be able to find Sekaido. This is a MUST-GO place for all artists, designers and stationery-lovers!

Floor Guide: (may subject to change)
1F: Stationery & office supplies
2F: Art Supplies for Comic (Manga), design, drawing, drafting, computer etc.
3F: Fine art materials & tools, sculpture, Japanese art
4F: Frames & prints
5F: Paintings & frames
6F: Gallery & art culture.

TOP

Yuzawaya (ユザワヤ)

Opening hours:
10:00 am – 8:00 pm (Sundays to Fridays)
10:00 am – 8:30 pm (On Saturdays)
Location:
Takashimaya Times Square (タカシマヤ タイムズスクエア) – 11F > Floor Guide
Check their website for more details (in Japanese).
Their online stores (Yahoo! & Rakuten) are also available (in Japanese).
Yuzawaya Tokyo
After Sekaido, backtrack towards the direction of Isetan until you reach the junction with the signage “Meiji-Dori.” Instead of crossing the junction, turn left and it will lead you to Takashimaya Times Square building. Then, ride the elevator up to 11th floor for Yuzawaya.
Yuzawaya Shinjuku

Yuzawaya

Click on thumbnail to see these pictures of Yuzawaya on Flickr.

TOP

Tokyu Hands (東急ハンズ)

Shinjuku craft store
Opening hours: 10:00 am – 8:30 pm
Location:
Takashimaya Times Square (タカシマヤ タイムズスクエア) – 2F to 8F > Floor Guide
Check their website for more details (in English).
Their online store is also available (in Japanese).

After Yuzawaya, just use the escalator to bring you down to Tokyu Hands’ hobby craft section (at level 7) and DIY tools & materials section (at level 6).

TOP

22 comments on “Craft Stores in Japan – Tokyo (Shinjuku)

  1. rajeev
    December 2, 2013

    this is an amazing bit of information, my son is looking for origami related store, would you recommend something from the list!!

    • Anonymous
      December 2, 2013

      If he’s just looking for regular origami paper, he can get some for ¥105 (about $1.05) at pretty much any ¥100 Store.

    • blackcabbit
      December 2, 2013

      Hi Rajeev, to find beautiful origami papers, you can check out Yuzawaya, Sekaido and Tokyu Hands. And yes, definitely 100-yen stores will have some too. Have a fantastic day! ^_~

    • Yuliya
      January 29, 2014

      Sekaido has lots of paper and sets for different hobbies

  2. Duangjai Ekahitanonda
    June 10, 2013

    Thank you for your helpful info. Where can I buy leather tools kits and quilts kits in which store cause I have one day in shinjuku prince hotel.

    • blackcabbit
      June 10, 2013

      Hi Duangjai, I remember seeing quilting & leather related stuffs in YUZAWAYA. Since Tokyo Hands is in the same building, I’d suggest to pop in there too. If time permits, check out Sekaido as well. Because it’s a huge art store, it should carry leather-related goods too. Have fun! Cheers ^_^Y

  3. Brad Hards
    May 28, 2013

    Thanks very much. My partner and I had been to Shinjuku before (and even made it to Tokyu Hands and out to Nippori), but the rest of the places were a revelation. Liberty print was bought (by her) and stationary (by me) :-)

    Thanks again.

    • blackcabbit
      May 31, 2013

      You are most welcome! If you know any other cool art/craft-related places, please share with me too! I’m still very much a foreigner clueless about Tokyo despite of staying in Japan for four years. (´・_・`)

  4. Heather Russell
    April 2, 2013

    I’m in Tokyo now visiting my brother in law and his family and I just wanted to say thank you for all your hard work in putting this guide together. I have found it so useful, I can’t thank you enough!

    • blackcabbit
      April 2, 2013

      Thank you so much for your encouraging comment, Heather. It really make my day! Have a safe, fun and creative trip! ^_^Y

  5. Martha Jager
    January 11, 2013

    Am off to Tokyo next week armed with all your FAB information! Thank you soooo much for your time and effort here! I appreciate you!

    • blackcabbit
      January 11, 2013

      You are most welcome. Have a fun, fabulous, and inspiringly fruitful trip! If you find anything else interesting, do share with me. b^_^d

  6. Maureen
    October 21, 2012

    I’m a knitter and I just moved to Tokyo. I’m looking for a reliable place to get all kinds of yarn and knitting supplies. I don’t need expensive or luxurious yarns, I just like a wide variety. Would you suggest Okadaya as the best place? If you have a better suggestion please let me know. I am comfortable using the subways to get anywhere, even smaller towns. Thank you.

    • blackcabbit
      October 22, 2012

      Hi Maureen. If you stay in Tokyo then I’d highly recommend Tomato (or Nippori Fabric Town) instead of Okadaya, in term of pricing. But I have only been to Okadaya once, so my opinion may be lopsided. More info on Nippori Fabric Town can be found here: http://blackcabbit.wordpress.com/2012/03/02/craft-stores-nippori/

      Alternately, since you have a Japanese address, you may want to consider membership with YUZAWAYA, cos they do occasionally offer 30% OFF knitting or sewing supplies. To date, the biggest branch of Yuzawaya is in Kamata (Tokyo). You may want to visit that branch to check out its variety. (It’s in my plan to visit it one day too! :P)

      Here is the link (in Japanese) with more information:

      http://www.yuzawaya.co.jp/information/mise_ka.html

      I stay in Chiba, so I frequently go to TWO craft stores in Kashiwa City for my craft supplies (i.e. Sanki & Yuzawaya). As both stores are in close proximity (kinda of opposite each other), their prices are extremely competitive for most items. Sanki’s knitting department looks pretty good too.

      Sanki (Kashiwa)

      http://www.fi-sanki.co.jp/shoplist/result.php?no=02

      (This store is near KFC, don’t confuse it with “NEW SANKI” which is its fashion section a stone’s throw away). BTW, I have a few dated pictures of Sanki’s craft store on my flickr. You may want to check it out:

      Sanki 01

      Yuzawaya (Kashiwa)

      http://www.yuzawaya.co.jp/information/mise_kasiwa.html

      Hope these info helps. I’ll love to know how your shopping goes if you do visit these places. Hope to hear from you again :)

  7. Anonymous
    September 12, 2012

    Thank so much, my plan will to visit ABC Craft only one shop due to easy way to walk from Shinjuku station. Your information is helpfulness for me.

  8. megan
    June 25, 2012

    WOW! Arigatou gozaimasu! The time you put into this! This is wonderful, I wish I had found it earlier. Just 1 day left in Tokyo. Will make my way to Sekaido and Yuzawaya. I wonder if there something like this for the East Coast, US area (where I´m moving to)…

    • blackcabbit
      June 25, 2012

      Thank you so much Megan for your encouraging comment. May your trip to Sekaido and Yuzawaya be super fruitful, fun and inspiring!

  9. Frances antoinette
    March 11, 2012

    Tokyu hands was monstrous with so many things to see…good thing I had a meal before I went into the store!

    • blackcabbit
      March 11, 2012

      (NOD NOD) Frances, I totally get what you mean! I remember how Tokyu Hands (Shibuya Branch) dominated my whole trip. I was not able to pull myself out of there. I did not even have time for other stores :P

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 50 other followers

