Blackcabbit's World

Bit by bit, the Blackcabbit crafts its nest of DIY handmade art and illustrates a kingdom of doodle critters to beautify the world she lives in.

One DIY Christmas Ornament a Month – 05 Pinecone Tako

Christmas Tree decorIntroducing Tako, my fifth Christmas tree decoration. He is part of my pinecone craft series in Japanese style. Of which, I’d share basic techniques of Chirimen Zaiku (ちりめん細工/Crepe Handicrafts) that I am learning from books. Okay, here is how I make my chirimen pinecone octopus. Step by step, here we go!

Sewing the Legs

The type of fabric I used for Tako’s legs is Shibori (絞り). Of which, tie-dyed methods (such as pressing, folding, stitching, twisting etc.), are used to create the fabric’s slightly raised and wrinkled surface. After cutting a pointy edge on one end, I folded it into halves. I secured a knot on the thread, and sewed a simple running stitch on the wrong side of the fabric. Once I reached the tip of the fabric, I inverted it inside out (with the needle and remaining thread intact).Octopus DecorThen, I gave it a gentle pull. When I was happy with the way it curled, I secured the stitch and removed the needle. I actually kept the remaining threads, in case I needed more curls. Okay, all eight legs done (tediously) and on standby. Let’s go to the fun part…

Painting the Pinecone

My pinecones were baked before I used them for crafts. Here is how I baked them. For this project, I chose a pinecone with a rounded base that shaped like a octopus head. For Tako’s mouth, I used a stripe of thick white paper (18 x 2 cm), rolled it, and glued it to a scale of the pine cone. Then I mixed yellow with red acrylics to get the color close to the Shibori fabric. To make colors more vibrant, I painted two coats.Christmas pinecone

Adding the Legs

After the paints on the pine cone was completely dry, I positioned and glued the legs one by one onto its scale. A tooth pick is useful to apply glue, to further attach and to hide the fabric edges well into the pinecone.Pinecone Craft

Putting the parts together

I made the eyes using felt materials and glued them onto the pinecone’s scales. To help Mr. Tako to look more Japanese, I gave him a Hachimaki (headbands worn in Japanese Festivals) with a ding dong bell.Octopus DecorChirimen CraftFor the final touch, I added a string (22 cm long) to the pine cone. Presenting…

 Mr. Tako, the Savvy Pinecone Octopus, Surfing the Net!

Chirimen Zaiku

Please Click on Link to See:

All My Handmade Adventures in ONE Glance

4 comments on “One DIY Christmas Ornament a Month – 05 Pinecone Tako

  1. Min
    May 21, 2014

    Haha! It has such a cute, funny expression! It looks like one confused octopus :P

    • blackcabbit
      May 21, 2014

      I must admit that he sure looks like a drunken salaryman with a necktie on his head LOL

      • Min
        May 21, 2014

        Oh my gosh! Yes! Now that you mention it…that’s all I see. Haha!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on May 21, 2014 by in Craft / DIY Projects and tagged , , , , , .
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 53 other followers

