Blackcabbit's World

Bit by bit, the Blackcabbit crafts its nest of DIY handmade art and illustrates a kingdom of doodle critters to beautify the world she lives in.

Learning left and right – the Japanese way

For years, I have trouble differentiating which is Migi (Right) and which is Hidari (left). Only recently, I was told that the young Japanese are taught this connection…

The Migi (Right) hand uses the O-Hashi (chopsticks),
while the
Hidari (Left) hand holds the O-chawan (bowl).

Haha, if you were like me, you may ask, “What’s the connection here!!!” Especially to some left-hander, it’s no help at all. Initially, it did not make much sense to me. Sigh, when come to language, I’m always so dim! The Japanese may have no problem remembering that by hard. As for me, that alone can zap away all my memory power!

As usual, for me to remember stuffs, I need visual! Only when I SEE the words, I begin to SEE a connection here…

Bowl Chopstick in Japanese

Ha ha, this definitely has room for argument. Well for now, this desperate way (of getting my Migi and Hidari correct) seems to work for me. V(^_^)

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on June 8, 2009 by in Life in Japan and tagged .

Navigation

