Blackcabbit's World

Blackcabbit (aka. Dionnie Takahashi) is an illustrator living in Japan. She loves drawing whimsical animal characters, as well as doing handmade crafts to beautify the world she lives in.

Sewing Machine Day!

Today is Sewing Machine Day! (ミシンの日 / Mishin no hi). It is amazing that everyday Japan has a list of events, people or even objects to commemorate about. Commonly, it is known as “Kyou wa nan no hi” (今日は何の日) or “What day is today.” If you are curious to know more, Wikipedia and Yahoo Kids are two of the many Japanese sites I recommend.

As for me, I just want to pay tribute to my wonderful sewing machine, which I bought in 2009 when I came to Japan:Brother Sewing Machine

The Brother A-35YF, the first sewing machine that I ever invested in. This stitching tool costed me 17,800 yen (about 180 USD). Indeed, it was a step of faith for a novice who had just decided to venture into the unfamiliar world of sewing. It was really love at first sight LOL! Okay, I admit I was totally bought off by its innocence, pretty colors, compact yet hardy appearance. Hoho, I have always been an impulsive buyer.

Nonetheless, I have never regretted buying this Mishin (that’s how Japanese call their sewing machines). As a beginner, I was so fascinated with its self-threader, as well as all the clear explanatory labeling on the machine. Overall, I am really pleased with this lightweight (only 4.5kg) simple, basic sewing gadget (with 11 built-in stitches). It has been a great help, making sewing really easy and fun for me. Oh btw, not sure if this is new to you, I was so surprised that foot controllers are usually optional for Japanese sewing machines. Both stitching and speed are controlled by HAND, which was pretty challenging at first for the speed devil in me. LOL

RELATED LINK:

Blackcabbit’s Handmade Adventures

4 comments on “Sewing Machine Day!

  1. Min
    March 4, 2011

    Sewing Machine Day is a real thing? Haha, I thought you were joking!

    • blackcabbit
      March 4, 2011

      Seriously, if i do have time to spare, I’ll comb through the dates to see what other interesting things they’re commemorating. LOL

      • Min
        March 4, 2011

        Cute sewing machine by the way. I like how sunny and cheerful it looks. Maybe it appealed to you because subconsciously you miss sunny Singapore eh? ;)

        • blackcabbit
          March 4, 2011

          Yup I love the cheerful look. It was an older model even in 2009, the newer ones has different color scheme. But U know lah, how i love natural colors that matches my previous maple-wood color furniture in Singapore. Though currently we have different wood color here but I kind of wired to get that color. So I actually “HUNT DOWN” that model :P

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on March 4, 2011 by in Craft / DIY Projects and tagged .
