Blackcabbit's World

Bit by bit, the Blackcabbit crafts its nest of DIY handmade art and illustrates a kingdom of doodle critters to beautify the world she lives in.

Sewing Kit Pouch

Embroidery Purse Frame

A few months back, I made a sewing kit pouch. It was my first attempt on doodle stitching as well as making a purse with a kiss-lock frame. I really love it and was about to brag but was put out of mood when a string of bad events happened to Japan in March. All my handmade and blog activities came to a sudden halt. Well, I’m back to my chatty self and now I’m ready to share. Step by step, here we go…

Purse Frames

The kiss-lock frames are my favorite of all sewing notions! I simply adore them. In fact, I’ve collected quite a few types of metal frames, all waiting patiently for me to complete them into purses. Initially, I was clueless. Then, I came across these fantastic tutorials that provided me great revelation of how to create my own purse patterns. They had given me the confidence to kick start this sewing project. Kudos to these wonderful ladies who generously share their wealth of knowledge.

^_^
Since it was my first attempt, I decided to practice on a 95mm purse frame from Daiso the 100-yen shop. Next, I worked out the shape and size for my pouch, and sketched an illustration to fit it. Doodle Stitching

Doodle Stitching

When I came to Japan, I was wowed by lots of impressive handmade works where embroidered illustrations truly compliment the handicraft. That’s when I got hooked. Cos now I realized that I have a new medium to doodle with! Anyway, back to the topic…

Initially, I traced my illustration onto the fabric with color carbon paper but I can hardly see any lines. So, I went over it with a purple water-soluble pen. Yet, it was just as faint. I decided to proceed anyway since I was familiar with the art. I used my PRE-WASHED Cosmo dark brown embroidery thread and started stitching. After completing the stitch-work with three other color threads and bits of fabric, I used water to clean off the tracing marks. Illustration embroidery

Putting the Pieces Together

I traced the purse pattern four times onto fabric “A,B,C & D,” twice onto fusible interfacings, and cut them out accordingly. The thick interfacing were ironed onto fabric “A” & “B”. Subsequently, I placed the right side of “A” onto the right side of “B” before sewing them together. Linings and Interfacing
Before I flipped over to the right sides of “A+B”, I’d cut out V notches to reduce bulk so that I can have nice rounded corners. “C+D” are linings, the inside of the purse. Similar to “A+B”, the right sides of “C+D” touched each other. The only difference, I left openings at the top and bottom, and used overedge stitch to neaten the remaining seam.Purse Frame Pattern
Next, I tugged the “A+B” into “C+D”. Making sure that all my edges aligned nicely before separating/grouping the layers for pinning. After that, I sewed “A” with “D” (and “B” with “C”) using the overedge stitch.
Kiss lock purse
After sewing the seam, I pushed “A+B” out through the opening of “C+D”. That took a while but it was really exciting for me as the pretty (right) side of the fabrics started to emerge. Once everything was reversed inside out, I stitched up the opening. Finally, the last few steps were to push the linings into “A+B” and work to get the shape right.
Making Pouch

Purse Frame Construction

After completing the fabric section of the purse, it was time to apply the metal purse frame. The tools I used for this project were a long nose pliers, an awe, and a glue with long tip. First, I applied generous amount of glue onto the groove of the frame as well as the pouch opening. After fitting the frame to the fabric, I gently stuffed a paper string (cut to match the frame size) into the groove using the awe. Now to the most thrilling part… I compressed all four edges of the frame with the plier, whose teeth was cushioned with fabric scraps to prevent any scratches or accidental damage to the frame.
Clasp ball frame purse

The Finished Piece

Handmade Kiss lock PurseYippee! My sewing kit is done!
Now I can bring my embroidery tools out with me. ^_^b

RELATED LINK:

Blackcabbit’s Handmade Adventures
My Pre-washed Embroidery Threads

19 comments on “Sewing Kit Pouch

  1. Rosie
    August 22, 2011

    Great, if you’d ever like to give it a try the frame is included. Your work is already great, just another method to give a go.

  2. Rosie
    August 22, 2011

    Very cute! As I mentioned in my last post I don’t use string or crimp in mine. If you would like to try another method I would love to send it to you free of charge. If you’d like to have it just let me know at
    admin@AmericanPurseSupplies.com

    • blackcabbit
      August 22, 2011

      Thank you so much Rosie, It is very generous of you. If I try out another purse frame I’ll let you know. I really appreciate it! ^_^b

  3. Anonymous
    June 23, 2011

    you are so amazing Dionnie.. love your doodle drawing also though i find the right hand rendered wrong :p

    • blackcabbit
      June 23, 2011

      Wow, you are very observant! I was hoping that it would go unnoticed :D

      • Hannah Liew
        August 22, 2011

        are you going to correct your wrong with a new purse? (but, i always find beauty in flaws (= )

        • blackcabbit
          August 22, 2011

          Nah, I’ve moved on (got too many things to do, so got to live with the beautiful flaw)… :P

  4. Becky
    June 15, 2011

    This is sooo cute! I never thought to embroider doodles. I have a friend who had her daughter’s doodles tattooed on her hip. I’m not that brave so I can make purses out of my kiddie’s doodles. Thanks for sharing this. :o)

    • blackcabbit
      June 15, 2011

      Thank you Becky, Wow your friend is amazing. My little boy is too young to hold a crayon yet but like you I pretty sure I WILL NOT have the guts to tattoo his masterpieces onto me. Not that I have no faith on the little guy’s soon-to-be-discovered-artistic-genes, but the hard truth is my pain threshold is super low LOL. :P

  5. darkcargo
    June 14, 2011

    What a great tutorial! I’m always intimidated to embroider because I thunk ” what do I do with it when I’m done?” Well what a great idea you have here! And I love your cute little guy, too!

    • blackcabbit
      June 15, 2011

      Thank you Darkcargo. I’m still very new with embroidery. Hopefully I can employ my doodles onto more variety of handmade stuffs (e.g Zakka, blouse, bags etc). It may take years though LOL.

  6. Rosie
    June 4, 2011

    What a cute idea! I love the cute characters and can sure see all the love and effort you’ve put into your work. I’ve made 1000’s of frame purses but have never used string or crimped.

    • blackcabbit
      June 4, 2011

      Thanks Rosie. Oh you never used string or crimped your frames, that’s neat! Love to check it out if you sharing them online. I really love purse frames and hope to learn as many available methods as possible. ^_^b

  7. Alan Zulch
    May 30, 2011

    I’ve never thought of myself as particularly attracted to embroidery, or, well, purses, or crafts in general. But I found myself reading this post, partly out of a real appreciation for your word craft and clean explanations, and partly out of enthusiasm for the idea of a renewed appreciation for self-sufficiency and simple living. You are a talented and generous teacher.

    • blackcabbit
      May 30, 2011

      Thank you so much, Alan. Like always, I’m truly encouraged by your wonderful comments! :D

  8. Hannah Liew
    May 29, 2011

    Kool! Perhaps you should move towards this direction >doodle stitching.

    • Min
      May 29, 2011

      The stitching’s really good!

      • blackcabbit
        May 30, 2011

        Hannah, Min, Airigato! Hey, both of you must try it out too! simply therapeutic! Then, must show me yah ^_^b

        • Hannah
          August 22, 2011

          huh? me trying out what dionnie is doing?

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on May 29, 2011 by in Art & Illustrations, Craft / DIY Projects and tagged , , .
