Blackcabbit's World

Bit by bit, the Blackcabbit crafts its nest of DIY handmade art and illustrates a kingdom of doodle critters to beautify the world she lives in.

I’m Going Digital (Finally)!

I’m always a late bloomer when it comes to anything. For instant, in the milestones of my life… I had a 360-degree career change from being a nurse to a multimedia artist at the age of 27. I got my BA about 6 years later than my peers. Then based on my folks’ standard, I was married rather late. Thankfully, God swiftly blessed us with a son when I just turned 35 (before I lack the stamina needed to run after my fireball).

While most people rush to get the latest version of every fanciful notion and talk-of-the town device, I will either be oblivious to them or too lazy to catch up with the ever-changing world. By the time I got interested, the certain gadget has gone mainstream or the fad totally died out.

The same goes with my art. Despite of my multimedia art background, my working style is rather primitive. For years, I will begin my artwork with a pencil. Then I’ll scan the sketch into the computer to work on it further. Since I like hand-drawn lines better, I will print out the revised sketch; ink over it on a plastic film (OHP); re-scan the line art, and color it digitally. Sound tedious right?

Illustration Style

That’s why I’ve often drooled over the Wacom Pen Tablet and longed to own a digital painting software. Both of which I was unable to justify the need to buy for the longest time. I know the saying “A bad workman blames his tools” but I really think that choosing the right tools do help a great deal.

Anyway, that wish list was fulfilled recently. As my one-year-old begins to demand more of my time and love clinging to my legs, I knew I had to simplify my work process if I want to continue to create art. My supportive husband then got me my very first Wacom Bamboo Comic as a birthday gift. And I quickly got meself a Corel Painter 11 (older version), which I got a good deal on eBay.

Pen Tablet

Guess what. Good things do come in small packages. Enjoy seeing me happy, my wonderful husband bought me an ipad yesterday! He said teasingly that it is an advance gift for my next few birthdays. I immediately installed kid apps for my boy and the Procreate (a mobile painting app) for gleeful me! I guess from now on, you will see more digital paintings coming out of me. v^_^v

Cat ContestHere is a digital painting (2nd work that I did with my wacom and Painter),
submitted for KFS Neko Illustration Contest on 19th July 2011.
Out of the 10592 competitors, I was part of the
150 “入選” (Selected winners). Maybe I’ll try again next year :P

The first work was an Etegami for Tanabata.

5 comments on “I’m Going Digital (Finally)!

  1. Pingback: Digital Illustration – Welcome & God Bless Our Home Print | Blackcabbit's World

  2. Alan Zulch
    August 4, 2011

    Congratulations on your new artistic vehicles! You’ve already mastered them, if your two illustrations are any indication.

    While I pine for things simple, sustainable, and resilient, I do own an iPhone and am typing on a MacBook Pro, which I enjoy very much. So, here’s to coming to terms with our inner hypocrites!

    • blackcabbit
      August 4, 2011

      Hi fellow Apple user (giggle), Nah, not yet…. I’m still a novice in digital painting. Gonna practice a lot lot lot more I suppose. But I must say that with a fine art + photoshop background, the learning curve is not as steep (thank goodness).

  3. Min
    August 4, 2011

    Is that supposed to be Gracie? Cute!

    • blackcabbit
      August 4, 2011

      Gracie in the size of Pooh – Combined features :D

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on August 3, 2011 by in Art & Illustrations and tagged , , .
