Blackcabbit's World

Bit by bit, the Blackcabbit crafts its nest of DIY handmade art and illustrates a kingdom of doodle critters to beautify the world she lives in.

Four Etegami for Golden Week – 01 Showa Day

I realized that I had been pretty slacked with my Etegami Art Series recently. So, before I’m further delayed by motherhood, or get busy planning a new series, I decided to do four picture postcards at one go.

Actually, they belong to the public holidays in GOLDEN WEEK:
April 29 :
 Showa Day (Showa no hi / 昭和の日)*
May 3 :
 Constitution Memorial Day (Kenpo kinenbi / 憲法記念日)
May 4 :Greenery Day (Midori no hi / みどりの日)*
May 5 :
 Children’s Day (Kodomo no hi / 子供の日)

*Some out-dated reference books on Japan (which I owned) will state that April 29th is Midori no hi (or previously known as Showa Tenno Tanjoubi /昭和天皇誕生日). However, Midori no hi has been officially moved to May 4th since 2007. 

Golden Week (“GW” / Goruden wiku) refers to the Japanese vacation period that begins at the end of April and last until the first week of May. With a cluster of four national holidays (and including the weekends), majority of the Japanese will “extend” their vacation simply by using 2-3 days of their work leave. They then use this over-a-week-long holiday period for family vacation. Hence, transportation, accommodation and almost all tourist attractions nationwide will be terribly packed.

A personal advice for visitors:

Crowded places, long queues, fully booked or over-rated hotel, terrible traffic jams, congested airport and train stations… these are the things that rob the fun out of travel for my family. If you dislike them too, then take my advice and do avoid a trip to Japan during the Golden week.

Showa Day (Showa no hi) – April 29

Today is Showa Day (Showa no hi / 昭和の日). It was the birthday of Showa Emperor Hirohito. It used to be celebrated as Showa Tenno Tanjoubi /昭和天皇誕生日) until his death in 1989. The national holiday is later renamed as Showa no hi after 2006.

Showa Day

Here is the first GW’s Etegami (Picture Postcard) featuring Showa Day.
I thought I’d include my favorite anime produced during the Showa period
(i.e. Gegege no Kitaro, Urusei Yatsura, Dr. Slump Arale-chan).
Being a Showa product myself, I have these characters to grow up with. 

*

Please check out the rest of my Golden Week’s etegami as well:
May 3 :
 Constitution Memorial Day (Kenpo kinenbi / 憲法記念日)
May 4 : 
Greenery Day (Midori no hi / みどりの日)
May 5 :
 Children’s Day (Kodomo no hi / 子供の日)

RELATED LINK:

Japanese Annual Events (Main Page)

4 comments on “Four Etegami for Golden Week – 01 Showa Day

  1. blackgodzilla
    May 10, 2012

    Another child of the Showa era checking. Macross, Gundam, Urusei Yatsura and Ranma ½ were all my favorites from those days.

    • blackcabbit
      May 11, 2012

      Thanks for dropping by, Blackgodzilla.

      Yup, Ranma ½ was in my long list of favorites too. I love all of Rumiko Takahashi’s works and of course, her not so recent one… InuYasha was fantastic!

  2. dosankodebbie
    April 30, 2012

    GREAT representation of the Showa era! I’m a Showa girl myself, and am often mystified that it is treated as “vintage.” I guess I have to deal with the idea that I’m vintage… I look forward to seeing the rest of this series. :)

    • blackcabbit
      May 2, 2012

      Thank you so much for dropping by, Debbie.

      Yup, we live in a world of fast pace and things quickly became old fashioned. However, it is those “old” things that are unique to that generation alone, bringing such fond firsthand memories. I’m so glad that we found each other, my likeminded friend. Yours sincerely, from a “vintage” Showa girl to another. ^_^Y

Leave a Reply

