Blackcabbit's World

Blackcabbit (aka. Dionnie Takahashi) is an illustrator living in Japan. She loves drawing whimsical animal characters, as well as doing handmade crafts to beautify the world she lives in.

Etegami for GW – 02 Constitution Memorial Day

May 3rd is Japan’s Constitution Memorial Day (Kenpo Kinenbi / 憲法記念日).

Frankly, I doubt I will know the significance of this patriotic holiday if it is not for my etegami series. In fact, all of my books on Japan simply describe Kenpo Kinenbi with just a sentence or two. Here is an example:

A day to commemorate the enactment of the Constitution of Japan in 1947.
[Talking about Japan Q&A by Kodansha Bilingual Books (1996/pg.245)]

This totally gives me no clue on what to draw on my picture postcard. So I goggled around and found more information on the internet. The articles by WikipediaHonor Dargan (TokyoTopia) had given me a good background on the Constitution of Japan.

In a nutshell…

After being defeated in World War II, Japan had to replace their own Meiji Constitution (absolute monarchy) with the present Constitution (democracy). Of which, it was drawn by the Allied Powers and was put into effect on this day in 1947. Since then, the emperor of Japan lost his supreme sovereignty and became the symbol of the nation. Having to observe fundamental human rights, Japan will no longer be able to wage war, or settle international disputes through the use of force. Her military forces are only permitted for self-defence and peace-keeping purposes.

After knowing all these, I really appreciate the Constitution. Personally, I felt that it has done so much good to the country. Seeing the world rushes to Japan’s aid when the calamity strikes in 2011, was enough evidence that she had managed to shed her militaristically aggressive image over time, and became a peace-loving nation that everyone loves (especially me :P).

Constitution JapanHere is the second Golden Week’s etegami I did
featuring Constitution Memorial Day.

May the peace of Japan continues.
(And I pray for world peace as other warring nations follow suit too.)

RELATED LINK:

Japanese Annual Events (Main Page)
Four Etegami for Golden Week – 01 Showa Day
Etegami for GW – 03 Greenery Day
Etegami for GW – 04 Children’s Day

7 comments on “Etegami for GW – 02 Constitution Memorial Day

  1. dosankodebbie
    May 8, 2012

    You captured the spirit of kenpo kinenbi very well!

    • blackcabbit
      May 8, 2012

      Thank you very much, Debbie. #^_^#

  2. Alan Zulch
    May 3, 2012

    Beautifully done! Both image and sentiment inspire…

    • blackcabbit
      May 3, 2012

      Thank you very much, Alan.

  3. Huey Ming
    May 3, 2012

    It’s lovely! Was it drawn on paper? Wish I can draw like that, really nice :)

    • blackcabbit
      May 3, 2012

      Thank you so much for dropping by, Huey Ming.

      Well I’m so glad you ask… Yes, it was drawn on paper but majority of it is done digitally. Maybe if I explain my work process, you’ll understand better:
      1. I sketched digitally with my wacom tablet.
      2. Printed it out on a thick drawing paper
      3. Inked over the lines with ink brushes
      4. Scanned & then colored the line work with Corel Painter (watercolor brushes) using my wacom tablet.

      Hmm, so that make the work 25% “non-digital” it seems LOL.

      Hey, keep drawing the things you love and you will definitely see result! (Hug)

      • Huey Ming
        May 5, 2012

        Wah… cool! Really enjoy your at pieces!

Leave a Reply

