Blackcabbit's World

Blackcabbit (aka. Dionnie Takahashi) is an illustrator living in Japan. She loves drawing whimsical animal characters, as well as doing handmade crafts to beautify the world she lives in.

DIY Projects for my Pre-schooler 4: Sling Bag

Sling BagHere is a Sling bag (aka. Messenger bag) I made for my three-year-old, four months ago. In Japan, this type of school bag is more commonly known as a Shorudā Baggu (ショルダーバッグ / Shoulder Bag), and it is used on days without his Bento (lunchbox).

Okay, without further ado, let me share with you how I DIY-ed the bag:

Part 01 – The Main Part of the Bag

Bag TutorialThe main part of the bag was made up of: (A) 2 pieces of vehicle-patterned fabrics; (B) 2 pieces of polyester battings; and (C) 2 pieces of plain blue fabrics. All pieces measured 18 x 24 cm, with 1-cm seam allowances on all sides.

Handmade BagI wanted the bag to have round corners. So, I used my hubby’s saving coin can to achieve that.

Handmade BagAfter I cut the corners of the fabrics (i.e. A & C), I used zigzag seam to stop raw edges from fraying. Then, I “quilted” (B) to (C), and trimmed off the extra batting.

Part 02 – The Outer Pocket

Bag Pocket(D) is a Printable Cotton, which measured 15.5 x 24 cm, featuring an illustration I did for my son. I also created the name label.  (Click here to know more). The Batting (E) & Patterned Fabric (F) both measures 14.5 x 24 cm.

Printable Cotton In contrast to the main body, the pocket has only two sets of round corners. After I cut the lower corners of the fabrics (i.e. D & F), I used zigzag seam to stop raw edges from fraying. Then, I “quilted” (E) to (F), and trimmed off the extra batting.

Handmade BagI aligned the lower parts of the pockets. Folded the extra fabric of D over E+F. Machined the double-fold with matching thread. Sewed the rest of DEF together.

Children BagThen I attached the pocket & name label to the exterior front of the main body.

Part 03 – Attachment of Zipper & D-rings

Zipper(G) 2 pieces of 9 x 32 cm patterned fabrics, where the 30-cm zipper would be attached to.
(H) A bottom piece that measured 18 x 42 cm.
Then, I folded all the fabric pieces according to the folding line.

Sewing ZipperTo help me to sew closely to the zipper, I used double-sided tapes (meant for fabric) to hold it in place while machine-stitched with a zipper foot (Kawaguchi brand). I also sewed the zipper on the wrong side to secure it further.

Sewing D-ring(G) Finished attaching the zipper to the two pieces.
(H) was folded in half.
(I) Steps to attach the two D-rings (3 cm).
1. I cut a 8 x 14 cm blue fabric. Folded it into half.
2. Folded the two sides 1 cm inwards, and sewed a 0.5 cm seam over to close them.
3. Cut the fabric stripe half.
4. Inserted a fabric stripe into one D-ring.
5. Sew closely to the D-ring.
Repeat step 4 & 5 for second D-ring set.

Bag Accessories6. This is how I placed one of the D-ring set on top of both (G) & (H). Once again, I used double-side tapes (meant for fabric) here.
7. It was too thick to machine stitch the layers (i.e. D-ring stripe +G +H), so I had to hand-sew with the help of a thimble.
8. Here is how it looked on the right side.
9. I repeated the steps with my mighty needle and thimble.
10 & 11. This part of the bag’s DONE!

Part 04 – Putting It Together

Sling Bag DIYNext, I joined the top parts of main body to the Zipper D-ring set.
IMPORTANT: Unzip slightly from this point onwards.
Messenger BagWorking with the bag inside out, I hand-sewed the rest of the edges together (i.e. main body with the Zipper + D-ring set). Then I neaten the edges with a 20mm cotton tape before inverting the bag back to its exterior.

Part 05 – Adding An Adjustable Strap

Cotton Webbing Tape(J) I used a 3 cm wide, 110 cm long navy blue cotton webbing tapes to make the adjustable shoulder strap. And the picture below will show how I threaded the strap through the D-rings and Bar Slide Buckle.

DIY bag

Yatta! (やった)

Shoulder BagOkay, it’s done! And I can tell that my son loves it ^_^Y

Related Links:

Blackcabbit’s Handmade Adventures

The Big Preschool Prep for ME!

Other DIY projects that I have done for my son includes:
Obento-Set
Shoe Bag
> Lesson Bag

2 comments on “DIY Projects for my Pre-schooler 4: Sling Bag

  1. Min
    August 20, 2013

    This is adorable! Do you take commissions? Hahaha

    • blackcabbit
      August 21, 2013

      Thank you so much, Min. Glad you love it. ^_^

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on August 9, 2013 by in Craft / DIY Projects, Life in Japan, School Life and tagged , , .
