Blackcabbit's World

Blackcabbit (aka. Dionnie Takahashi) is an illustrator living in Japan. She loves drawing whimsical animal characters, as well as doing handmade crafts to beautify the world she lives in.

One DIY Christmas Ornament a Month – 01 Red Pinecone Dolly

DIY Christmas tree ornamentWhy am I talking about making Christmas ornaments at the very beginning of the year? Blackcabbit’s brain must be frosted. Ho Ho Ho, it all started when I picked up my very first pine cone in a park last week. It was so beautiful, I just had to collect more for craft sake. I wanted to make them into holiday decorations for our future Christmas tree. So, I combed the areas under every pine tree despite of my fear of spiders.

Preparing the Pinecone

My pinecones were then baked, before I used them for crafts. There are many great tips on how to prepare pinecones for craft on the internet but you can read how I baked mine. In this project, I painted the pinecone RED (with cheap Daiso’s acrylic paint).

So, I painted the pinecone that I was using RED (with acrylic paint).

The Idea: A Hanging Doll with a Christmas Beanie

Christmas Chirimen CraftI wanted to re-use the beanie hat I made for my son’s Christmas Ramune Candy after we gobbled them up. To add a touch of Japanese style, I used Chirimen (縮緬/crepe fabrics) to mimic Tsurushi Kazari (つるし飾り/Japan’s traditional hanging doll ornaments).

Hanging Dolls

The picture of these hanging stuffed ornaments was taken from Joyful Honda Art Store.

CLOSE-UP: These hanging stuffed doll decorations are also known as Tsurushi Bina, Tsurushi Hina, or Sagemon.

CLOSE-UP: These Hanging Hina Dolls are also known as
Tsurushi Bina, Tsurushi Hina, or Sagemon.

Putting the parts together…

Christmas Tree OrnamentChristmas Doll decoration

Finally…My First Hanging Doll Ornament

Christmas Doll

She kinda resembles my adorable baby gal!

Please Click on Link to See:

All My Handmade Adventures in ONE Glance

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on January 6, 2014 by in Craft / DIY Projects and tagged , , , .
