Blackcabbit's World

Blackcabbit (aka. Dionnie Takahashi) is an illustrator living in Japan. She loves drawing whimsical animal characters, as well as doing handmade crafts to beautify the world she lives in.

How To Bake Pinecones for Crafts

Baking pineconeThere are many great tips on the internet on how to prepare pinecones for crafts – all on a mission to destroy the evil critters residing in them before they take over our house. For instance, the two most popular methods – soak them in vinegar (mixed with water); or bake them (though the Japanese seem to prefer the boiling method).

For me, I don’t want to ruin any pot by choosing the soaking or boiling method. So, I prefer to annihilate the invisible critters with the baking method. I am very picky with my “porcupines” and had only brought home the ones that looked pretty clean. So, after a quick rinse, they were ready for the heat. (Note: Pinecones will close up in wet or cold conditions.)

The Baking Method

Generally, the pine cones are placed on a cookie sheet (without touching each other); in a preheated oven set at either 200 or 250° F; ranging from 30-60mins. One is supposed to check on them from time to time, to make sure they do not burn.Pine cone craft

My Unfortunate First Lot

Thankfully, I did checked on my “porcupines” because I did not convert 250°F to Celsius! Instead of setting my Japanese oven at 120°C, I had mine at 200°C. After 15 minutes, my pinecones changed from a beautiful sepia color to a boring dark shade. SOB!

Bake Pinecone

So, I had to cover these over-baked pinecones with acrylic paint.

So, I painted the pinecone that I was using RED (with acrylic paint).

My Second Attempt

Pinecone craftThis lot was so much better since I baked them at 120°C for half an hour. All ready for craft! Stay tune to see how I transform them into beautiful and adorable Christmas ornaments.

Please Click on Link to See:

All My Handmade Adventures in ONE Glance

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 27, 2014 by in Craft / DIY Projects and tagged , .
