Blackcabbit's World

Bit by bit, the Blackcabbit crafts its nest of DIY handmade art and illustrates a kingdom of doodle critters to beautify the world she lives in.

One DIY Christmas Ornament a Month – 11 Pinecone Snowman

Pinecone SnowmanIntroducing Yuki, my eleventh Christmas tree decoration. He is part of my pinecone craft series in Japanese style. Of which, I’d share basic techniques of Chirimen Zaiku (ちりめん細工/Crepe Handicrafts) that I am learning from books. Okay, here is how I make my chirimen pinecone snowman. Step by step, here we go!

Painting the Pinecone (Body of the Snowman)

My pinecones were baked before I used them for crafts. Here is how I baked my pinecones. I painted the pinecone with 2-3 coats of white acrylic paint.

Sewing the Yukidaruma’s Head

(1) For the snowman’s head, I used a 14×10 cm white Chirimen (crepe fabric). (2) I cut an oval and did a running stitch around the edge. I gave it a firm pull so that the fabric gathered up and pushed in some cotton stuffings. Christmas Craft(3) Next, I added two 6 mm beads for his eyes, a small red pom-pom for his nose, and other facial features. Then, I used red wax crayon to give Yuki rosy cheeks.

DIY the Scarf

(1) For the scarf, I used a 35×5 cm patterned chirimen fabric. Instead of sewing, I used white glue. Christmas Tree Decoration

Putting the parts together

I actually recycled the snow cap (on the left). It was used for my Christmas Snowman Wrapper (I kept it after I gobbled up my son’s chocolate bar). Click here to see how I made the snow cap.DIY Christmas CraftAfter I glued the snow cap, head and scarf onto the white pinecone, I added a red string (approx. 20 cm long) for hanging. Then, I used a brown pipe-cleaner for the snowman’s arms. A forceps is useful to push the pipe-cleaner snugly in between the pinecone’s scales. I added good amount of white glue to further secure it.Christmas Craft

Now, Yuki the Snowman’s ready to rock!

Christmas Craft Snowman

Please Click on Link to See:

All My Handmade Adventures in ONE Glance

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on November 27, 2014 by in Craft / DIY Projects and tagged , , .
