Blackcabbit's World

Bit by bit, the Blackcabbit crafts its nest of DIY handmade art and illustrates a kingdom of doodle critters to beautify the world she lives in.

One DIY Christmas Ornament a Month – 12 Pinecone Reindeer

Christmas ReindeerFinally… Here is Rudofu, my 12th Christmas tree decoration. He is part of my pinecone craft series in Japanese style. Of which, I’d share basic techniques of Chirimen Zaiku (ちりめん細工/Crepe Handicrafts) that I am learning from books. Okay, here is how I make my chirimen pinecone reindeer. Step by step, here we go!

Sewing the Reindeer’s Head

I used a piece of 7×7 cm felt fabric to make the head. (1) First, I cut off one part of the edge (see picture). (2) Folded it diagonally with the wrong side facing out. (3) Sewed along the seam. (4) Turned it inside out and used an embroidery floss to sew him a nose.DIY Christmas Ornament(5) I stuffed some cotton wool in and sewed a couple of 6mm black beads as eyes to the head. (6) Then, I sewed the opening closed with the tips touching.

Sewing the Ears

(1) I used two colors for the ears (Yellow and Ochre?). Of which, the sizes are approximately 4 x 3.5cm. (2) Sewed the Yellow with the Ochre fabric and inverted it. (3) Tucked in the frays before sewing them to the pointy parts of Rudofu’s head.
Handmade Christmas(4) Sewed the yellow fabric together like this to make the ears look cuter.

Adding the Antlers

This is how I DIY the antlers for my Christmas Reindeer. I recycled a cardboard. (1) I placed Rudofu’s head on it and drew an antler for him. Using the same shape, I cut out 4 antlers (two of which is mirrored), making it two sets in total. (2) Using white glue, I used Chirimen fabric to cover the cardboard. Tips: Using little snips will help to make better curves. DIY Christmas Deer(3) When the chirimen coverings for one set of antlers is done, aligned them carefully and glued the two pieces together. Repeat the process for the next set. Then, here is how I glued the paper antlers onto my reindeer.

Pinecone & Sticks

My pinecones were baked before I used them for crafts. Here is how I baked my pinecones. This round, I did not paint the pinecone. I want to keep the nice natural glossy glaze. For the legs, I used four wooden sticks (usually available in hardware shops).Christmas PineconeThis is how I glued the wooden sticks to the pinecone scales, and let it dry for at least 3 hours before I worked on it further.

Sewing the scarf

I used a piece of 30 x 8cm Chirimen (Crepe Fabric). I folded it into halves, with the wrong side facing out. Then I sew along the dotted lines, left an opening to invert it inside out. Once inverted, I sewed up the opening.Christmas Pinecone craft

Putting the parts together

(1) I add a 24cm red string to the head (for hanging the ornament later), and secured it with a knot. (2) This is how I used fabric scraps to help me attached Rudofu’s head firmly to his body.Christmas Pinecone Craft(3) This is how I did the scarf initially. I wrapped and glued it to hide the neck area, attached the bell onto it using a wire. However, the scarf was a little too long. So, I used a knot instead, and sewed the bell onto the scarf.

Here is Rudofu and KittyKat, all ready to bring you the Christmas Cheer!Pinecone craft

Please Click on Link to See:

All My Handmade Adventures in ONE Glance

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on December 18, 2014 by in Craft / DIY Projects and tagged , , .
