Blackcabbit's World

Blackcabbit (aka. Dionnie Takahashi) is an illustrator living in Japan. She loves drawing whimsical animal characters, as well as doing handmade crafts to beautify the world she lives in.

Digital Illustration – Welcome & God Bless Our Home Print

Our house was lacking a welcome sign so I drew this. After I received the print from Imagekind, I framed and hanged it prominently in our living room to greet all our guests. “God bless our home and all who enter,” is a digital illustration that I did with Corel Painter (version 11), from sketches to the final work. Today, I thought I will briefly share my illustration process with you. Hope you will like it!

God bless our home

My Step by Step Illustration Process:

I sketched directly into the computer using my Wacom Bamboo Comic drawing tablet. The software I used was Corel Painter 11 (an old version). I sketched using the Pencil Tool. I always draw different elements on separate layers, so that it will be easier to erase or correct any mistakes.Digital illustration sketchesIllustration processSketching usually takes the longest time in my illustration process because of my endless revisions. Once I was pleased with it, I’d draw a set of new lines over the sketches on a new layer:Digital sketchesNext, I worked on the colors of the animals and then the other elements. I used the Sponge Tool to color.Digital paintingWhimsical animalsI erased off the background color that has no drawing on it.Welcome signFinally, I adjusted the overall image color balance using the Curve Tool with another software, Pixelmator. Done! Here is my finished illustration:Welcome Sign
This Print is available for sale at Imagekind / Fine Art America / Redbubble.

Another Print for the Playroom

Since I was with a mission to fill our empty wall spaces, I decided to decorate our kids’ playroom with a print of my Transportation and Animal Series, which I did for Fireball two years ago. This time, I added my favorite bible verses: Kid playroom posterChildren playroom poster

This Print is available for sale at Imagekind / Fine Art America / Redbubble.

2 comments on “Digital Illustration – Welcome & God Bless Our Home Print

  1. Faye
    April 2, 2015

    These are great

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 1, 2015 by in Art & Illustrations and tagged , .
