Blackcabbit's World

Blackcabbit (aka. Dionnie Takahashi) is an illustrator living in Japan. She loves drawing whimsical animal characters, as well as doing handmade crafts to beautify the world she lives in.

A Makeover for Our Baby Chair

After tons of persuasions, bribes and whatnots, Fireball (our 5-year-old) has finally gave up his throne to his little sister, Twinkle-Bell (our 2-year-old). So to commemorate the handover, I decided to give the high chair a revamp.

Baby High Chair Makeover

Step by step here we go!

You may have noticed that I have already changed the cover for the seat area. Because the steps are similar, I will only show you what I have done for the back-support piece.
(1) I unscrewed it from the chair, removed the old covering (i.e.synthetic leather).
(2) The back-support piece is made up of a wooden board and a foam cushion. Their combined height is 2.5 cm. It became the allowance I added to the shape of the wooden board that I traced onto the fabric of my choice. In this case, it is an adorable animal-patterned polyester-100% fabric that I got from a 100-yen shop! I gave a bit more allowance for the opening.
(3) After sewing a 1-cm seam allowance and finishing the edges with zig-zag stitches, I did a few cut lines on the curves. Then, I turned the cover right sides out.Reupholster baby high chair(4) I carefully folded in the extra fabrics at the opening. (5) With the help of pins and some double-sided tapes (for fabric use), I closed up the opening with ladder stitch. (6) I used the screws to locate the original puncture holes. Then, I mounted the finished piece back to the chair.

Tada! A whole new look!

Now I have just extended a few more working years to the baby high chair! And once again, I have to stop Fireball from seizing back his throne! LOLBaby High Chair Revamp

2 comments on “A Makeover for Our Baby Chair

  1. WendyBakes
    June 28, 2015

    Super cute fabric! Also, that rug with the moose print! Want! I must know where it’s from.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on June 24, 2015 by in Craft / DIY Projects and tagged , .
