Blackcabbit's World

Blackcabbit (aka. Dionnie Takahashi) is an illustrator living in Japan. She loves drawing whimsical animal characters, as well as doing handmade crafts to beautify the world she lives in.

Plastic Bag Tutus Made the Best Last-Minute Costumes

We decided to bring our kids to our church’s costume party just a day before the event. It was so last minute, I did not have time to shop for costumes. I looked around the house, desperately looking for ideas and then I spotted my son’s wolf mask. He made it with his kindergarten teacher for their play last Christmas.

Wonderful! This year, Twinkle-bell and Fireball will dressed up as Little Red Riding Hood and her Big Brother Wolf.DIY Little Red Riding Hood

I rummaged through my closet of craft materials and was surprised that there was NOTHING I could used. Then, a light bulb went off in my head. AHA! I have a lot of plastic bags. I remembered seeing tutorials for DIY tutu dress. Instead of using tulle fabric, I was sure I could do something similar with my stash of plastic bags. After researching a few tutorials online, made a few mistakes… here’s how I made my little girl’s dress…Tutu dress plastic bag

DIY a Tutu Dress with Plastic Bags

I cut my plastic bags this way to get long strips.DIY Tutu Dress

I used a long ribbon, marked my girl’s waistline on it, attached the ends to the chairs, and began tying the plastic strips on the ribbon. To do so, I folded a strip into half, created a loop, went over the ribbon, and put the loose ends through the loop, pulled to create a knot.Last minute costume

I attached white embroidery threads around the dress that Twinkle-Bell was going to wear, in order to tie the tutu temporarily to it. Red dress

The Red Hood

Then, I made the head gear for Twinkle-bell using a gift bag from last Christmas. It was a little too big for her so it required a lot of adjustments but it did seem to work pretty fine.The Red Hood

Time to dress up Brother Wolf

I made another tutu using dark blue and grayish plastic bags to complete Fireball’s costume. The bags I used were slightly bigger than the ones I used for Twinkle-Bell.Wolf Costume

Wow, I made two sets of costumes that cost me nothing, and the smiles on my kids’ faces are priceless! We had a really good time at the party. Everyone was so creative. I am so looking forward to next year’s party.

Have a fantastic Autumn!

4 comments on “Plastic Bag Tutus Made the Best Last-Minute Costumes

  1. WendyBakes
    November 3, 2015

    Great way to recycle as well!

    • blackcabbit
      November 4, 2015

      Yah, otherwise my stash of plastic bags is taking up too much space! LOL

  2. Tammy Twinkle
    November 1, 2015

    Very clever!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on November 1, 2015 by in Craft / DIY Projects and tagged , , .
