Blackcabbit's World

Blackcabbit (aka. Dionnie Takahashi) is an illustrator living in Japan. She loves drawing whimsical animal characters, as well as doing handmade crafts to beautify the world she lives in.

Hand Painted Logo Signage

Coming July, my little English school will commenced. Blackcabbit’s English Enrichment School aka B.E.E.S will have its first class, which consists of a small group of elementary children (my son, Fireball included).

To set things in motion, I designed a logo for B.E.E.S. and hand-painted it onto wood, to hang it at my entrance. It has been a while since I did something like this so it was really refreshing and fun.

DIY Wooden Signage

I bought a circular wood at a home center. I think it was meant to be a top for stool. I sandpapered it to roughen the surface so that it would hold the acrylic paints. I printed out the design and traced it onto the wood using carbon paper. The lines were pretty faint so I went over them with oil-based marker.Hand painted wooden sign

Before I started painting, my dear husband helped me to drill two holes in the wood. (Electric drills still freak me out :P) After the artwork was done, I let the acrylic paint dry overnight and applied a coat of oil-based varnish. I used varnish spray for the following 3-4 coats, which was a time-saver and so easy to clean up.DIY Logo wood signThe final step was to hang my pretty logo signage on our wooden lattice fence.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on May 7, 2016 by in Art & Illustrations, Craft / DIY Projects, English School and tagged , , .
