Blackcabbit's World

Bit by bit, the Blackcabbit crafts its nest of DIY handmade art and illustrates a kingdom of doodle critters to beautify the world she lives in.

A Pyrography (Wood Burning) Project

I realized I need to have a toilet sign for my little school. So I DIY-ed one. The last time I did a wood-burning artwork, I was in my teens. Like the B.E.E.S logo project, it was so refreshing to revisit an old craft technique. Plus, I finally got to use the pyrography pen tool I bought from a second-hand store many years back. I got a blank wooden sign from a 100-yen store. As my husband watched the kids, I sneaked away somewhere where they could not see what I was doing, and enjoyed half an hour of “fire writing”.

Here is my step-by-step:Wood burning PyrographyAfter I erased any visible pencil lines, I covered the wooden plaque with my varnish spray (the same one I used on the B.E.E.S wooden logo sign). I left it outside for a day, to minimize the strong varnish smell. Then, it is ready to be displayed next to my loo. Pyrography toilet sign

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on May 13, 2016 by in Art & Illustrations, Craft / DIY Projects, English School and tagged , , .
