Blackcabbit's World

Blackcabbit (aka. Dionnie Takahashi) is an illustrator living in Japan. She loves drawing whimsical animal characters, as well as doing handmade crafts to beautify the world she lives in.

Teach Love Not Fear

Recently, I was ask to illustrate an artwork for a fellow mama-tomo (ママ友). The mother of my son’s classmate wanted to commission me to draw something with a strong message of motherly love, something she can run to, to soothe her and calm her down whenever her anger is triggered by her kids. Immediately, I turned her down because I felt that this task was way out of my depth. My temper tantrum is worse than my kids’. I am the last person on earth who can draw anything to curb anger.

Not wanting to take NO for an answer, our conversation on this topic lingered a little longer. Amazingly, she said something that made me changed my mind. She noticed that I added bible verses on my prints that I display at home. God’s Word fascinate her even though she is a non-Christian. She really wanted me to pick a bible verse for the artwork. That’s when I had a light bulb moment. I then realized that I need to do this illustration, yes as a gift for her, but definitely more for MY OWN SAKE.

So I prayed and asked God to show me the verse. And He showed me 1 John 4:18.

There is no fear in love, but perfect love casts out fear. For fear has to do with punishment, and whoever fears has not been perfected in love.

(English Standard Version)

With the verse in mind, here is how I work the illustration:

Bear illustration

Mother bear is one of most fearsome creature I know.
Yet, her love for her cubs is like nothing else in the world.

Mother bearperfect loveBear illustration

Here is the final artwork:

This version is for me. My friend had a slightly different one in pinkish hues. I can’t speak for my friend, but this artwork does have a calming effect on me as I mediate on His Word. I added “Teach Love not fear” on the top to further remind myself to be a model of love for my kids and students.
Bear illustration artwork

SaveSave

SaveSave

2 comments on “Teach Love Not Fear

  1. WendyBakes
    July 2, 2016

    Very nice! And such a sweet message.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on July 1, 2016 by in Art & Illustrations and tagged , , .
