Blackcabbit's World

Bit by bit, the Blackcabbit crafts its nest of DIY handmade art and illustrates a kingdom of doodle critters to beautify the world she lives in.

Chinese New Year Craft in Chirimen-styled

Chinese New Year is just round the corner and I managed to give our living space a festive feel, just by adding a Chinese character Fu (福). The word, which means blessings (or good fortune, luck, happiness, etc), is the hallmark of CNY decoration.Easy CNY decoration

Red is usually the typical CNY colour but I did not want the decorations to be “shouting” for my attention half the time, I picked these colours instead. Okay, let me share how I made the simple Fu hanging decoration. [1] I printed out the character (Printable PDF here) on a thick A4 paper. You may notice that there is a bible verse printed as well (Proverbs 10:22, in TLB version). Since I hang the decor at the opening between my kitchen and living room, I can see the back of the sign so I sticked the verse there. [2] I used a pen cutter to trim off the black part of the FU word. I kept the five pieces of white spaces in the character for later use.DIY Chinese New Year [3] I applied glue on right side up. Spread the glue thinly but cover all the area well. I put too much so I have to live with visible spots of dry glue on my work (cry). Then, I placed the word on the fabric (wrong side). [4] I cut slits/v-notches on the fabric as I glued them to the edges of the paper.

[5] I applied glue to the back of the sign. Again, I put too much! You can see all the glue oozing out. (Sigh, when will I ever learn.) :P Remember the 5 white pieces? I wrapped them with the same crepe fabric and glued them directly on, to complete the character. [6] I trimmed off the excess red chirimen. I made a simple tassel using a new skein of embroidery thread (just tied one end and cut off the other half; and you can make two tassels with this method). I placed the red thread of the tassel on the back of the sign and taped fabric scraps over it to secure it further.DIY CNY word[7] Before mounting the sign on a Shikishi (色紙/ artboard with golden trim), I tied two cords with beads on the top corners, and glued fancy origami papers on the board. [8] The final step (after the sign was mounted on the shikishi), I attached a braided cord (with metallic strands) around the sign. Done! Nice and simple!

I also added a Chinese lantern just to spice up the CNY atmosphere:DIY CNY lantern

Blessed Chinese New Year to you!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on January 25, 2017 by in Craft / DIY Projects, Festivals / Holidays, Life in Japan and tagged , , , , , .
